“You can’t judge a book by its cover” –even when that cover is emblazoned with an award seal!

Award winners are not always the best of the best; this is a subjective group of human beings judging and you are entitled to disagree!

Caldecott Medal (CM): Awarded annually since 1938 to the artist of the “most distinguished American picture book for children.” Thus, the Caldecott is awarded to the illustrator, not the author. A quick sampling of the winners shows a fascinating peek into the ways in which children’s illustration has evolved over this past century. Here’s the list of award winners. Some of Betsy’s favorites are (check them out from your local library!):

  • The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney (2010 Winner)
  • Red Sings from Treetops illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Joyce Sidman (2010 Honor)
  • Kitten’s First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes (2005 Winner)
  • Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky (1998 Winner)
  • Golem by David Wisnewski (1997 Winner)
  • Tuesday by David Wiesner (1992 Winner)
  • Lon Po-Po by Ed Young (1990 Winner)
  • Goldilocks and the Three Bears by James Marshall (1989 Honor)
  • Ox-Cart Man by Barbara Cooney (1980 Winner)
  • Noah’s Ark by Peter Spier (1978 Winner)
  • Frog and Toad Are Friends by Arnold Lobel (1971 Honor)
  • Drummer Hoff illustrated by Ed Emberley; text: adapted by Barbara Emberley (1968 Winner)
  • May I Bring a Friend? illustrated by Beni Montresor; text: Beatrice Schenk de Regniers (1965 Winner)
  • Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak (1964 Winner)
  • Little Bear’s Visit illustrated by Maurice Sendak; text: Else H. Minarik (1962 Honor)
  • Chanticleer and the Fox , illustrated by Barbara Cooney; text: adapted from Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales by Barbara Cooney (1959 Winner)
  • A Tree is Nice , illustrated by Marc Simont; text: Janice Udry (1957 Winner)
  • Play With Me , by Marie Hall Ets (1956 Honor)
  • Blueberries for Sal by Robert McCloskey (1949 Honor)
  • The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton (1943 Winner)
  • Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey (1942 Winner)