truth/story

  • basal readers šŸ™‚
  • cheesy Disney movie knock-offs
  • My Little Pony easy readers
  • basic ABC/123 books with simple, trite images

truth/Story (this is hard–I tend to not think it’s Story if there isn’t Truth…)

  • OK, maybe something like Pullman’s Dark Materials? I haven’t read them, but from what I’ve heard, they sound like good candidates.
  • Or maybe the Octavian Nothing books?

Truth/story (“preachy” and didactic)

  • Hermie šŸ™‚
  • Books whose main purpose is to “teach” a moral/SS literature
  • How about Christian romance novels….?? Grace Livingston Hill and the modern counterparts (I *shudder* to mention Amish romances–can be fun to read, but usually quite trite–albeit “full” of “Truth”)

Truth/Story: (picture books are hard for me to place…)

  • Narnia (Christian book: allegory)
  • Lord of the Flies (we see creation/fall/redemption; fall is clearly portrayed as aberrant and “evil” and there is clearly creation of a “new world” and redemption of a fallen one); good example of a nonChristian book
  • well-done ABC/123 books (like Anno’s Counting Book–narrative and wonderful images woven in)
  • Waiting for Winter (my latest favorite picture book)–but I’m not really sure this counts….
  • OOOHHHH…. The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney–sort of self-sacrifice in that fable and his images are outstanding. What do you think?
